NEWS: New Leaders Elected to Habitat for Humanity of Michigan Board of Directors

Black text reading "Habitat for Humanity" with three figures underneath a roof

Posted February 8, 2021

Lansing, Mich. – Habitat for Humanity of Michigan board of directors voted and unanimously elected Deborah Smith-Olson of Lake-Osceola State Bank, Juan Zuniga of LISC Flint, and Marty Spencer of Independent Bank to the board of directors.

“We are excited to have Deborah, Juan, and Marty join our leadership team and help guide our organization,” says Sandy Pearson, President and CEO of Habitat for Humanity of Michigan. “Each of these new members brings a fresh perspective and a wealth of experience to the table to ensure that we are making the greatest impact as possible for the Habitat affiliates that we serve, along with Michigan families seeking to fulfill their dream of homeownership.”

Deborah Smith-Olson has spent her career with Lake-Osceola State Bank headquartered in Baldwin, Michigan, where she is the Chairman. She augments her “day job” volunteering with the following organizations: Girl Scouts, West Shore Community College Foundation, MiWorks! West Central Work Force Development Board, Village of Baldwin Downtown Development Authority, Baldwin Promise Authority, MDOC Community Corrections Board, Lake County Coalition for Economic Progress, Spectrum Health- Big Rapids & Reed City Foundation, and the Baldwin Troutarama festival.

In his role as Senior Program Officer of the Flint LISC office, Juan Zuniga is responsible for leading all aspects of LISC’s programmatic portfolio, working within diversified communities, providing leadership and technical expertise in shaping programs designed to positively impact social determinants of health and community development and growing organizational capacity to community-based organizations in the city of Flint. Prior to joining LISC, Juan was in the construction industry and worked as Program Director for Genesee County Habitat for Humanity heading their Homeowner Programs.

Marty Spencer joined Independent Bank in 2000 and has served as Vice President, Community Reinvestment Act Officer since 2012. Marty is also a board member for IM Fostering Hope, which provides all children entering the foster care system in Ionia and Montcalm Counties with essential items upon entering foster care. Finally, he enjoys volunteering making weekly food deliveries for the St. Joseph’s Food Pantry.

Current board of directors members represent Habitat for Humanity affiliates, financial institutions, government, nonprofits, and faith-based organizations.  Members and their affiliations include:

  • Daniel Page-Wood, board chair, Whirlpool Corporation
  • Scott Young, first vice chair, Retired – The Dow Chemical Company
  • Rev. Dr. Oscar King, III, second vice chair, Kelley-Cawthorne
  • Kristian Hurley, secretary, American Heart Association
  • Jeffrey Kindinger, treasurer, Michigan Education Association
  • Byna Elliott, J.P. Morgan Chase Bank
  • Craig Erzen, The Ford Motor Company
  • Carolyn Bloodworth, Consumers Energy Foundation
  • Fred Fechheimer, Retired – Dykema
  • Daniel Lynch, Affiliate Mortgage Services
  • Eric Hanna, Michigan Community Capital
  • Rodney Cole, Sr., DTE Energy
  • Jamie Whisnant, Auto-Owners Insurance Company
  • Deborah Smith-Olson, Lake-Osceola State Bank
  • Juan Zuniga, LISC Flint
  • Marty Spencer, Independent Bank
  • Robert Johnson, Livingston County Habitat for Humanity
  • Wendy Clow, Greater Jackson Habitat for Humanity
  • Jamie Healy, Habitat for Humanity of Mason County
  • Barbara Seabolt, Mecosta County Habitat for Humanity
  • Nancy Pellegrini, Habitat for Humanity Menominee River



About Habitat for Humanity of Michigan

Habitat for Humanity of Michigan is the state support organization for Michigan’s more than 50 Habitat for Humanity affiliates and ReStores which serve nearly every county in the state. Seeking to put God’s love into action, Habitat for Humanity of Michigan brings people together to build homes, communities and hope.